Time Management Tips for a Better You!

27 Jun

The panic, the sweat, the panting, the heart racing. We’ve all felt this way before as we’ve struggled to make our flight or that fast approaching deadline. This isn’t fun. In fact, it’s quite stressful. Trust me, I know. You see, I’m a chronic procrastinator.

I start assignments late only to have to work harder (not smarter) to accomplish them. When I have a task set forth, I wait until the very last possible second to start them because, in my mind, they’re simple which means they won’t take long, right? Wrong! I’m that person you see waiting in line at the airport’s curb side check-in, tapping my foot, and checking my watch every second. I’m also the one who finally reaches airport security, only to see at least six lines filled with hundreds of people. I’m that person who then begs everyone else to let her through because there are only 20 minutes left until her plane departs. Yup, that’s me. Actually, that was me just a few days ago, and it wasn’t pretty. Though I did end up making my flight (woohoo), I did so by the skin of my teeth and with the help of some very nice and understanding Chicagoans. And after this highly emotional, painstakingly nerve wrecking experience (yes, I’m a bit dramatic), I realized that I could no long put things off until the very last minute.

I didn’t want to be the one running through the airport, pushing past children, knocking down the elderly, or jumping over suitcases! Instead, I wanted to be the calm, cool, and collected person who arrives with enough time to breathe, relax, and know that I’ve made my flight. I no longer wanted to be the person who didn’t turn in her very best work because she started the assignment the same day it was due.

If any of this sounds familiar shout, “Away, begone, enough!” I’m ready to make some changes, and if you’re ready to do the same, here are five easy steps you can take to manage your time more efficiently and present a better, (less stressed) you!

We’ve got some pretty simple tips that work!

  1. Write everything down. Have and maintain a planner to keep your life balanced and organized. Be sure to write down important deadlines, dates, and any to-do lists you might make.
  2. Plan. Take 15 to 30 minutes to plan out your day or week ahead of time, and specifically look at your priority due dates. It may even be useful to assign specific time slots so you know how much time you are devoting to a specific task.
  3. Work smarter, not harder. Remember, Rome wasn’t built in a day! It’s okay if you work on a little bit of an assignment at a time rather than at once. Difficult tasks are meant to be subdivided.
  4. Rewards. Reward yourself for each task you’ve completed. Whether it was making that work deadline or addressing a client’s concern, you’ve earned a break!
  5. Don’t forget about yourself. While it’s important to handle business, don’t forget about yourself! Whether it’s exercising, having fun, enjoying your relationships, or (my favorite) sleeping, you can’t forget about the most important aspect of your life—YOU!
with <3,
Kirstin, Intern
THE ARDOR BRAND

Image

Leave a Reply

