#Beauty in #Media: Rachel McAdams Covers Glamour, February 2012

25 Jan

For the month of February, Glamour Magazine chose to spotlight Rachel McAdams as their cover girl. The 33-year old, self-confident, talented actress opened up to Glamour about her friends, her romances, and how she’s tried to maintain living a normal life. She tells Glamour, when she was 16, she worked under her sister’s management at a local McDonald’s. “It was a great place to work, but I had a little bit of an OCD thing with hand washing and just didn’t have time. They were like, ‘Hey, the drive-through’s backing up. Stop washing your hands!’ I was not a great employee; I broke the orange juice machine one day.”

Rachel lives with her brother in a home in Toronto, “But the house is a lemon, so there are endless things to do there. It keeps me on my toes.” Her living arrangements keep her humble and living in her hometown helps her to appreciate her family and support system. “The strongest community I have is in Toronto. I like being able to go to the same places and see the same people. My family’s close by. I get along with my neighbors. It’s really nice.”

She also tries to stay real by keeping connected with problems other than the latest Hollywood gossip. “wanted to educate myself. People have said it’s unfocused, but I appreciate that there are so many different groups coming together peacefully, saying there are things that are broken in the system, and we need to put our heads together.” She also likes to stay educated for her acting career. She engages in activities that will make her a more well-rounded person, as well as enhance her skill sets. “I use filming as an excuse to take classes. I got my certification in sailing for Wedding Crashers, and now I can handle a 26-foot boat. I played a seamstress once, so I took sewing classes. I love dipping into these other lives.”

To read more about Rachel McAdams and her interview with Glamour, click here!

Leave a Reply

