#Beauty in #Media: Jennifer Aniston Covers November Elle Magazine

12 Nov

This month, Elle Magazine is featuring 2011 Women in Hollywood as their cover story. These beautiful, successful women include Jennifer Aniston, Naomi Watts, Viola Davis, Freida Pinto, Barbara Streisand, and more. Not only do they take great photos, but they are also smart, fashionable, determined women.

 

On a time when she stood up to a male director: “I threw a chair at a director. It wasn’t my proudest moment. He was treating a script supervisor horribly… When the director walked in, I threw a chair at him. I missed, of course. I was like, 'You can’t speak to people like that.' I can’t tolerate it.”

On what made her want to become an actress: “One of the things was seeing the movie Fame, as cheesy as that sounds. I was like, That looks fun! It wasn’t that I wanted to be famous. I just wanted to go to acting class.”

On how her career has panned out: “I didn’t get my SAG card until I was 30. But that’s how it works. You keep putting your work out there, and at some point, if you’re fortunate, if you’re lucky, if you’re blessed, it morphs into something. One role has led to another until I’ve emerged as this. This!”

On being described as the “perfect obscure object of desire” by Woody Allen: “For me, it wasn’t trivializing, but it would be if I did that in film after film. It gave me the opportunity of exploring the woman I’m not.”

On her career: “I don’t get a lot of offers to either direct or act. I’m still a kind of threatening object. I was offered They Shoot Horses, Don’t They?, but you had to dance through the whole movie—I got tired just reading the script. I was offered Klute, but I was seeing someone at the time and didn’t want to work. I was offered Julia, but I was editing A Star Is Born. As I say to Jane Fonda, ‘I’m responsible for your career.’ Because I turned down those movies and she got them and she was wonderful in them. Now people want me for a specific role.”

 

To see more photos and read the interviews, click here or pick up the November issue of Elle!

Leave a Reply

